The Bayerisches Nationalmuseum

Munich
Prinzregentenstrasse

Foto Gebaeude BNM copyright Stephan Rumpf

The "Schatzhaus an der Eisbachwelle" is one of the largest museums in Germany. It displays exceptional art from late antiquity up to art nouveau, and explains European cultural history in Bavaria in a unique way. With the successive renewal of its display collections and exciting special exhibitions it creates bridges between the past and the present.

Mission statement

Selbstverstaendnis

The Bayerisches Nationalmuseum collects, preserves and explores unique testimonies to the art, culture and history of Bavaria and its ties throughout Europe from Late Antiquity up until the early 20th century. To ensure that the museum continues to be cutting edge, we are continually expanding the collection to include objects up to the present day.

The Bayerisches Nationalmuseum is unwavering in its determination to reaffirm the relevance of arts, culture and cultural education. As an vibrant institution for the mediation of art, the museum aims to convey cultural history through its collections, exhibitions and publications. Our goal is to convey knowledge in a generally accessible and lively manner and inspire enthusiasm and curiosity in a broad public. We are intent on providing orientation in an increasingly complex world characterised by growing social and technological challenges.

The Bayerisches Nationalmuseum works in an interdisciplinary, competent, critical, responsible and committed manner to realise its mission. To this end, it promotes cultural identity, creates the conditions for constructive dialogue and strives to participate in current social issues and discourses.

The Bayerisches Nationalmuseum provides a space for the public – regardless of age, origin, education and religion – to discover and experience cultural and historical heritage. The museum is committed to freedom of opinion, art and science, and to respect for all cultures.

Team

Team

About 150 individuals from a wide range of professions work at the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum. These include specialists from the fields of art history, ethnology, history, restoration, museology and education. They are joined by administrative specialists, professionals in museum technology, information technology, artisans from various trades as well as security, supervisory and cleaning staff. The comprehensive team ensures that everything runs smoothly at this treasure trove, which is located next to the English Garden on Munich's Prinzregentenstrasse, and its nine branch museums where they are supported by local forces.

Haupthaus 1915 detail

Scorching hot, walk and Nationalmuseum.

Hedwig Pringsheim, Diary, 5 June 1921

Program

29
Feb

Adults

Thu 18.00 - 19.00 Bayerisches Nationalmuseum

Brennpunkt: China as a trading partner

Dominance even in the Baroque era. China had been a dreamland for Europeans ever since the first reports about it were circulated by Marco Polo and his travels along the Silk…

01
Mar

Adults

Fri 14.00 - 16.00 Bayerisches Nationalmuseum

Kultursalon+

A program in German for the Generation Plus. The free events in German are aimed specifically at people who are financially limited and/or who would like morecontact with others.…

03
Mar

Adults

Sun 12.00 - 13.00 Fränkische Galerie Kronach

Gregorian chant in the museum

Fr. Gregor Baumhof OSB and the "Münchner Scholaren" / Dr. Matthias Weniger The admission ticket to the museum is valid.

Das Bayerische Nationalmuseum

München, an der Prinzregentenstraße

Außenansicht copyright Stephan Rumpf

Das Bayerische Nationalmuseum zählt zu den größten Museen in Deutschland. Das Schatzhaus an der Eisbachwelle präsentiert herausragende Kunst von der Spätantike bis zum Jugendstil. Es erzählt auf einzigartige Weise europäische Kulturgeschichte in Bayern. Mit der fortlaufenden Erneuerung seiner Schausammlungen sowie spannenden Sonderausstellungen schlägt das Bayerische Nationalmuseum Brücken zwischen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart.

Leitbild

Selbstverstaendnis

Das Bayerische Nationalmuseum sammelt, bewahrt und erforscht einzigartige Zeugnisse der Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte Bayerns sowie deren europäischer Verflechtungen von der Spätantike bis zum Jugendstil. Um die Aktualität seiner Arbeit zu sichern, reichen einzelne Initiativen auch über diesen Zeitraum hinaus.

Das Bayerische Nationalmuseum bekräftigt die gesellschaftliche Relevanz von Kunst, Kultur und kultureller Bildung. Als Ort der Vermittlung zielt es mit seinen Sammlungen, Ausstellungen und Publikationen auf die Darstellung von Kulturgeschichte. Es weckt Neugier und Begeisterung. Im Interesse eines breiten Publikums vermittelt es seine Inhalte allgemeinverständlich und lebendig. Somit bildet es eine Grundlage für die Orientierung in einer immer komplexeren und von wachsenden gesellschaftlichen und digitalen Herausforderungen geprägten Welt.

Das Bayerische Nationalmuseum arbeitet in der Umsetzung seiner Aufgaben interdisziplinär, kompetent, kritisch, verantwortungsbewusst und engagiert. So fördert es das kulturelle Selbstverständnis, schafft die Voraussetzung für konstruktive Dialoge und strebt die Beteiligung an aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Themen und Diskursen an.

Das Bayerische Nationalmuseum ist ein Ort, an dem Menschen – unabhängig von Alter, Herkunft, Bildung und Religion – kulturelle und historische Zusammenhänge erfahren und erleben können. Es bekennt sich zur Freiheit der Meinung, der Kunst und der Wissenschaft und ist dem Respekt vor allen Kulturen verpflichtet.

Unser Team

Team

Die Belegschaft des Bayerischen Nationalmuseums an der Münchner Prinzregentenstraße vereint etwa 150 Personen unterschiedlichster Berufsgruppen. Dazu gehören Fachleute in den Bereichen Kunstgeschichte, Volkskunde und Geschichte, Restaurierung, Museologie und Vermittlung. Daneben wirken Verwaltungsfachleute, Profis der Museumstechnik, Informationstechnologie und verschiedener Gewerke sowie Sicherheits-, Aufsichts- und Reinigungspersonal. Gemeinsam sorgt dieses Team für einen reibungslosen Betrieb im Schatzhaus an der Eisbachwelle sowie in den neun Zweigmuseen im Freistaat Bayern, wo sie von lokalen Kräften unterstützt werden.

Haupthaus 1915 detail

Glühend heiß, Spaziergang und Nationalmuseum.

Hedwig Pringsheim, Tagebuch, 5. Juni 1921

Programm

09
Feb

Erwachsene

Do 18.00 - 19.00 Uhr Bayerisches Nationalmuseum

Nicht nur zur Faschingszeit

Verkleidungsfeste am Münchner Hof in Porzellan. Auch unter dem Jahr veranstaltete der Münchner Hof zu besonderen Anlässen Verkleidungsfeste. Diese waren so beliebt, weil dabei das…

12
Feb

Erwachsene

So 11.00 - 12.00 Uhr Bayerisches Nationalmuseum

Da geht der Hut hoch

Spannendes rund um Kopfbedeckungen. Was Mann oder Frau auf dem Kopf trägt, behütet vor Regen oder zu viel Sonne. Es drückt aber auch gesellschaftliche Zugehörigkeit, eine modische…

12
Feb

Erwachsene

So 14.00 - 15.00 Uhr Burg Trausnitz in Landshut

Höfischer Auftritt in Landshut

Zum 455. Hochzeitstag. Die Münchner Fürstenhochzeit von 1568. Am 22. Februar 1568 heiratete der bayerische Erbprinz Wilhelm in der Münchner Frauenkirche die Prinzessin Renata von…